National Science Foundation Funds Cyber Security Scholarships at 13 Universities
Share this

Through its Scholarship for Service (SFS) program, the National Science Foundation (NSF) funds scholarship programs at 13 universities around the country to train individuals in cyber-security.

So-called "cyber corps" students receive two-years of support for undergraduate or graduate-level educations. This includes tuition payments and a cash stipend while enrolled in the program. Students also have opportunities to serve in government internships, as available. Upon completion of the program, graduates are required to serve two with the federal government.

There are no employment restrictions after this two year commitment is fulfilled. To participate, institutions must be reviewed and certified by the National Security Agency (NSA) as Centers of Academic Excellence in Information Assurance.

There are currently 13 schools offering educational opportunities funded by this program. They are:

  1. Carnegie Mellon University (Pittsburgh)
  2. Florida State University (Tallahassee)
  3. Georgia Tech (Atlanta)
  4. Idaho State University (Pocatello)
  5. University of Idaho (Moscow)
  6. Mississippi State University (Starkville)
  7. Naval Post Graduate School (Monterey, California)
  8. University of North Carolina (Charlotte)
  9. Norwich University (Northfield, Vermont)
  10. Polytechnic University of New York (Brooklyn)
  11. Purdue University
  12. Syracuse University
  13. University of Tulsa

The program was initiated during the Clinton administration in the shadow of Y2K and to safeguard the nation's information infrastructure. Since the terrorist attacks of September 11, 2001, the Bush administration has increased funding to the program. Applications to participate in the program are made through the university prospective students wish to attend (see the links above).

Copyright: Internet For Lawers logo, site design and all copy are © 1999-2020 Internet For Lawyers, Inc.

Any other copywritten material or brands contained herein are the properties of their respective owners.